The Painting

who would understand the word love
but the one in whose heart it dwells
it is the thought , and the all of all
through whom all actions are expressed
inexpressible in words
yet felt in the slightest touch of two hands
it is the pattern of love
the chemistry and energy that exists between two hearts
it is more than love
it is an act of love in an abstract painting
with hearts to discern it
it is of the spirit , a work of art
a painful expression of the heart
that often hurts the mind
it is the essence of the soul
that shall bring us to the point
of taking what is in each others hearts
and placing it in the other
so gently as a falling feather
a heart untouched is a delicate thing
though we tread not in fear , but in love
so when morning breaks , we both shall know
understanding the silence thereafter
but understand it now
you touch my heart in ways you would not imagine
in happiness when you are near
and sadness ,when you say you are leaving
but it is still you I long to hold
if I said I love you – you would not believe
maybe you will turn away
but I say it always, because I do
there shall never be an end to all that’s in my heart
it’s like a running river and it is meant for only you
ignoring all space and time
to ease the weight and burden of my mind
I must say what I have to say

but for now I’ll just close my eyes
for the time that you are away…”

Leave a comment